Shanghai Opera Symphony Orchestra

Zhang Guoyong, Principal Conductor
Lin Yousheng, Principal Conductor
Zhang Chengjie, Principal Conductor


The Shanghai Opera Symphony Orchestra was established in 1956 along with the construction of the famous Shanghai Opera House.

The Shanghai Opera Symphony Orchestra is renowned for its interpretation of classical symphony repertoire. The orchestra performs the masterpieces of the world’s most historic composers such as Beethoveen’s symphonies No. 6 and No.7, Tchaikovsky’s symphonies No. 4, 5, 6 and 9; Mozart’s Symphony No. 41 and Violin Concerto No.3; Berlioz’s Symphonie Fantastique; Mahler’s symphonies No 1 and 4; Dvorak’s Symphony No. 9 (From the New World) and 8; . . .

Learn More