Anne-Sophie Mutter Awarded Praemium Imperiale Prize


Mutter Praemium Imperiale 2019

Anne-Sophie Mutter receives the 2019 Praemium Imperiale for Music from the Japan Art Association.

Recognized not only for her artistry, but her contribution to the contemporary canon of solo violin literature, educational efforts with the Friends of Anne-Sophie Mutter Foundation, and strong charitable engagement, she joins the legacy of historic recipients including Riccardo Muti, Mikhail Baryshnikov, Martin Scorsese, Mitsuko Uchida, Avro Part, Francis Ford Coppola, Philip Glass, Seiji Ozawa, Dame Judi Dench, Sophia Loren, Zubin Mehta, Daniel Barenboim, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Mstislav Rostropovich, and Frank O. Gehry.

Congratulations to all of this years’ winners: William Kentridge, Mona Hatoum, Tod Williams & Billie Tsien, and Bando Tamasaburo.