Berlin Philharmonic Piano Quartet Completes 2020 US Tour


BPPQ tour news cover

Last week, The Berlin Philharmonic Piano Quartet wrapped up its 2020 US Tour. The quartet is one of the few existing ensembles of this instrumentation, uniting three permanent members of the Berliner Philharmoniker, violist Matthew Hunter, cellist Knut Weber, and violinist Luis Esnaola, with renowned concert pianist Markus Groh.

The highlight of this Spring tour was the performances of Danny Elfman’s Piano Quartet, a work co-commissioned by the Lied Center in Lincoln, Nebraska and the group itself. It was recently announced that Elfman’s newest commission, a Percussion Concerto, will be performed by Colin Currie and premiered by the London Philharmonic under conductor Alondra de la Parra at Southbank Centre's Royal Festival Hall.